Power Issues

In my last post, I flagged up the fact that I thought we were having some power issues, and I’m glad to see that people are reading my blog, as it led to some discussion of the issue on twitter. Seems my hunch was right (that Elec Eng degree far in my distant past has to count for something, right?), as others have had similar issues, and  wrote a comprehensive blog post on exactly this issue way back in March 2014.

So I again brought up this sensitive issue with the team, but the team member responsible (Peter) is rather wedded to his voltage regulator, and seems to feel that instead I should design the software so as to avoid the surges that are leading to the problem. Personally, I think that’s a pretty big ask, and that the underlying infrastructure should instead ensure that my pi always has sufficient power. See our conflict here?

Anyway, we’re moving from a 6xAA rechargeable battery pack to a custom-built one using 3×3.7V LiPo batteries, so I’m hoping that this will become less of an issue with the higher input voltage and current that these batteries can supply. I think I’ll also look at putting in some sort of LED indicator for low voltage – Angus got some cute Lego-compatible LEDs for Christmas that may be useful for this exercise. If the problem continues with our new power supply, I will have a stronger argument for the split power sources 🙂

2 thoughts on “Power Issues

  1. Good luck with this! The power supply seems a bit of a constraint with the pi, especially if you have things plugged into the USB ports. We had to stop using our wireless xbox 360 controller receiver because of power issues! If your battery swap doesn’t solve your issues you could look at different types of regulator, pololu make a pretty neat switching regulator that is a lot more efficient than the standard linear regulators: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/s7v7f5-5v-regulator?utm_source=google&utm_medium=googleshopping&utm_campaign=googlebase&gclid=Cj0KEQiAtqHEBRCNrdC6rYq9_oYBEiQAejvRl5VAXtShuNjGoMOBgGc54_QYW2kGu85zy2kvwcs9p-QaAl4r8P8HAQ

    Like

Leave a Reply

